Legco Election 2016 > News
Monday, September 5, 2016, 21:35

Beijing tells poll winners to heed the law

By Xinhua &

 Beijing tells poll winners to heed the law

HONG KONG – The mainland underscored its "resolute opposition" against any form of "Hong Kong independence" activities inside or outside of the special administrative region's (SAR) Legislative Council (LegCo) soon after Hong Kong's Electoral Affairs Commission completed annoucement of the election results around 7 pm.

The statement, issued by the Hong Kong and Macao Affairs Office of the State Council, noted that certain organizations and candidates were publicly advocating for "Hong Kong independence," capitalizing on the exposure afforded to them because of the election for the sixth-term LegCo of the Hong Kong SAR.

The statement iterated that "Hong Kong independence" was against the Constitution of China, the Basic Law and relevant laws of the Hong Kong SAR, that it was a threat to China's sovereignty and security, damaged the prosperity and stability of Hong Kong, and was counter to the fundamental interests of Hong Kong citizens.

"We firmly support the Hong Kong SAR government to mete out penalties according to law," the statement reads.

The election for the sixth-term LegCo of the Hong Kong SAR was held on Sunday.

The elected members are expected to fulfill their duties according to the Basic Law and relevant laws of Hong Kong, and to implement the "one country, two systems" principle, in an effort to protect the prosperity and stability of Hong Kong, according to the statement.

The term of office of the newly-elected sixth-term LegCo members will begin on Oct 1, 2016.

The Electoral Affairs Commision began announcing results at 11 am with Kowloon West going first. Women took all six seats in that Geographical Constituency with the pro-establishment camp winning two.

Sitting lawmaker Wong Yuk-man tasted defeat while Claudia Mo, Leung Mei-fun, Wong Pik-wan, Chiang Lai-wan, Lau Siu-Lai and Yau Wai-ching were declared winners. For Yau and Lau, it will be their first stint as lawmakers.

The results for Kowloon East constituency were declared around 11:45 am with Wong Kowk-kin, Tse Wai-chun, Or Chong-shing, Wu Chi-wai and Tam Man-ho declared winners.

The pro-establishment camp secured three of the five seats in this Geographical Constituency. Men won all the seats in this constituency.

Around noon, the results for New Territories West were declared with Eddie Chu Hoi-dick, Michael Tien Puk-sun, Ben Chan Han-pan, Cheng Chung-tai, Leung Che-cheung, Alice Mak Mei Kuen, Andrew Wan Siu-kin, Kwok Ka-ki, Junius Ho Kwan-yiu declared winners.

With her re-election, Alice Mak was the only woman to go to the Legislative Council from this constituency.

The pro-establishment side held on to their five seats in the constituency, with all four incumbents retaining their seats.

In Hong Kong Island constituency, men took four seats while women the rest two.

Regina Ip Lau Suk-yee, Nathan Law Kwun Chung, Kwok Wai-keung, Horace Cheung Kwok-kwan, Ted Hui Chi-fung and Tanya Chan Suk-chong were declared winners.

In the New Territories East constituency, those who came out victorious are: Eunice Yung Hoi-yan, Lam Cheuk-ting, Leung Chung-hang, Elizabeth Quat Pui-fan, Cheung Chiu-hung, Chan Hak-kan, Alvin Yeung Ngok-kiu, Leung Kwok-hung and Raymond Chan Chi-chuen. The results came after 4 pm.

 Beijing tells poll winners to heed the law

The long-awaited results of election to the "super seats" in the District Council (Second) Functional Constituency were announced early evening with Starry Lee Wai-king, Holden Chow Ho-ding, Leung Yiu-chung, James To Kun-sun, Kwong Chun-yu declared as winners.

The Functional Constituency results started trickling in the early afternoon.

The winners are: Agriculture and Fisheries: Ho Chun-yin (re-elected); Transport: Frankie Yick Chi-ming (re-elected); Catering industry: Cheung Yu-yan (re-elected); Financial Services:Cheung Wah-fung (re-elected); Legal: Kwok Wing-hang (re-elected); Commercial (First): Lam Kin-fung (re-elected); Sports, Performing Arts, Culture and Publication: Ma Fung-kowk (re-elected); Social Welfare: Shiu Ka-chun; Medical: Pierre Chan; Health Service: Lee Kok-long; Textiles and Garment: Chung Kwok-pan (re-elected); Information Technology: Charles Peter Mok; Tourism: Yiu Si-wing (re-elected); Architecture, surveying, planning and landscape: Yiu Chung-yim; Engineer: Lo Wai-kwok (re-elected); Accountancy: Leung Kai-cheong (re-elected); and Education: Ip Kin-yuen (re-elected).


Latest News