Home > HK
Thursday, August 11, 2016, 01:08

Newspaper Society re-elects president


HONG KONG - The Newspaper Society of Hong Kong has re-elected Lee Cho-jat, veteran publisher and former member of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference National Committee, as president.

Senior media professional Keith Kam Woon-ting was also re-elected as the society's chairman.

Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of China Daily Hong Kong Edition Zhou Li will also continue his service as one of the society's 14 council members.

The election, conducted at the society's 62nd annual general meeting on Wednesday, also saw the re-election of Siu Sai-wo from Sing Tao Newspaper Group as vice-chairman.

Other office-bearers elected by the society's council are Honorary Secretary Yin Shuguang from Wen Wei Po and Honorary Treasurer Stephen Fung Chung-leung from Ta Kung Pao.

Lau Chi-kuen, director of the Master of Arts in International Journalism Studies at the Hong Kong Baptist University and former chief editor of South China Morning Post, was appointed executive director. Lau and Lo Wing-hung from Sing Tao Newspaper Group were appointed as spokesmen.

Other council members elected are: Alan Lo (AM730), Zhang Jieling (Hong Kong Commercial Daily), Alice Kwok (Hong Kong Economic Journal), Eric Lai (Hong Kong Economic Times), Keith Kam Woon-ting (Ming Pao Daily News), Gu Zhuoheng (Sing Pao Daily News), Siu Sai-wo (Sing Tao Daily and The Standard), Lo Wing-hung (Sing Tao Daily) , Alex Ho (South China Morning Post) , Chow Chung-yan (South China Morning Post), Stephen Fung (Ta Kung Pao), Yin Shuguang (Wen Wei Po) and Chan Wing-ping (The New Evening Post).

The society, established in 1954, has a membership of 14 local newspapers, with the mission of fostering cooperation within the newspaper industry. It vows to continue efforts to raise professional standards of journalism and safeguard the interests of the industry. It organizes the annual Hong Kong News Awards competition which has been held since 1997.

Latest News