Home > HK
Thursday, August 4, 2016, 19:01

Law expert urges action against violence


Law expert urges action against violence
Junius Ho (left) submits a complaint letter to the Electoral Affairs Commission (EAC) Chairman Barnabas Fung Wah on Aug 4, 2016. (Parker Zheng/China Daily)

HONG KONG - Former president of the Law Society of Hong Kong and Legislative Council candidate in the New Territories West Junius Ho Kwan-yiu on Thursday submitted a complaint letter to the Electoral Affairs Commission (EAC) Chairman Barnabas Fung Wah on Thursday, expressing his concerns about the violence that erupted during the briefing session for this year's election on Tuesday.

He urged the EAC to guarantee candidates' safety and take action against the violent protesters in accordance with the law.

Ho complained that various groups of radical protesters, including lawmakers "Long Hair" Leung Kwok-hung, as well as political activist Demosisto's Nathan Law Kwun-chung and Avery Ng Man-yuen, disrupted the briefing and even attacked returning officers. He urged the authority not to yield to such unlawful behavior.

He also expressed concerns about candidates' personal safety as he was attacked before the briefing, and cursed and besieged in the lift by some of the protesters when leaving the venue. Among the protesters were activist Wong Yeung-tat and Alvin Cheng Kam-mun.

He also saw attacks on a fellow candidate, convener of social group Voice of Loving Hong Kong Ko Tat-bun. Ko has reported the case to the police.

The EAC should take resolute action against violence that occurred and that may occur during future election campaigns, he said.

Nine seats will be elected in New Territories West. Also contesting in the constituency are another 19 candidates. They are Chan Han-pan from the Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong, Wong Chun-kit from Youngspiration, Fung Kin-kee from the Hong Kong Association for Democracy and People’s Livelihood, Chow Wing-kan from the Liberal Party, Tien Puk-sun from the New People’s Party, Leung Che-cheung from the New Territories Association of Societies, Wong Yun-tat from the Neighbourhood and Worker’s Service Centre, Chu Hoi-dick, the Civic Party’s Kwok Ka-ki, the Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions’ Mak Mei-kuen, the Democratic Party’s Wan Siu-kin, the League of Social Democrats’ Wong Ho-ming, the Labour Party’s Lee Cheuk-yan, Tong Wing-chi, Cheung Wai-ching, Ko Chi-fai from Politihk Social Strategic, Cheng Chung-tai from Civic Passion, Kwong Koon-wan, and Lui Chi-hang from Christians to the World.

Latest News