Home > HK
Tuesday, July 12, 2016, 11:46

DAB aims to win 12 seats in LegCo election

By Luis Liu

DAB aims to win 12 seats in LegCo election

HONG KONG - The SAR's biggest political party –  the Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong (DAB) – announced on Tuesday it will field 12 candidate teams in five geographical constituencies and four functional constituencies in the coming Legislative Council election.

The party, which occupies 13 seats in the current-term legislature, more than any other political party, also declared its ambition to win 12 seats, despite admitting it is facing a tough contest.

The party's chairwoman, legislator Starry Lee Wai-king, cautioned supporters that the competition will become fiercer as more political parties from across political spectrum have sprung up due to the polarization of society in the past four years.

But she still voiced confidence in the party's unity and service to Hong Kong people in order to win seats in the election.

Lee and the party's vice-chairman Holden Chow Ho-ding will compete in the District Council (Second) Constituency, also known as the “super seats”, in which five lawmakers are elected by registered voters from across Hong Kong who are not voters in other functional constituencies.

This year, the number of seats contested on Hong Kong Island will be cut from seven to six due to demographic changes.

Another vice-chairman of DAB, solicitor Horace Cheung Kwok-kwan, will lead the team on Hong Kong Island. Veteran lawmaker Christopher Chung Shu-kun missed the chance to lead a team due to the cut of the number of seat. He was listed the second in Cheung's team.

Incumbent lawmaker Ann Chiang Lai-wan will try to secure her seat in Kowloon West. Also trying to secure their seats are Leung Chi-cheung and Chan Han-pan in New Territories West, and Elizabeth Quat Pui-fan and Gary Chan Hak-kan in New Territories East.

Current Kwun Tong District Councilor Wilson Or Chong-shing will compete in Kowloon East while North District Councilor Lau Kwok-fan will try to take over the vacancy left by retiring veteran Ip Kwok-him in the District Council (First) constituency.

Wong Ting-kwong from the Import and Export constituency and Steven Ho Chun-yin from the Agriculture and Fisheries will also fight re-election.

An average age of 38.8 was recorded among the DAB’s 56 team members heading to this year's election.

This year marks a reshuffle in the legislature as more than 10 incumbent lawmakers will retire. Four of them were from DAB, including LegCo President Jasper Tsang Yok-sing, veteran Tam Yiu-chung, Chan Kam-lam and Ip Kwok-him.

Latest News